“Under Milk Wood”, Readers’ Theater

“Under Milk Wood”, Readers’ Theater
October 4, 2014 @ 8:00 pm
Adults $10, Seniors $8, Students $6
"Under Milk Wood", Readers' Theater

First appearing on stage in 1953, Dylan Thomas’s work “Under Milk Wood” reveals the scope of human experience in a small Welsh town through the dreams, ordinary lives and musings of fifty-six townspeople who inhabit Llareggub (Bugger All spelled backwards) by the sea. Thomas is reported to have commented that he developed the play as a way of reasserting the evidence of beauty in the world. Perfectly suited to this play for voices, the Morgan Opera House in the small town of Aurora by Cayuga Lake, will present a reader’s theater performance in collaboration with Studio24 of Syracuse, NY.
Directing this finely drawn glimpse of life in Wales, Gerard E. Moses of Studio 24, brings a wealth of experience to his interpretation of Thomas’ script. Gerard E. Moses is the co-director of Studio24 (www.studio24m.net), as well as a professional actor, director and professor emeritus of drama at Syracuse University where he taught and directed for thirty-two years. He established the Syracuse University Drama Program in London where he trained professionally at the London Academy of Music and Art. Acting credits include Syracuse Stage, Champlain Shakespeare Festival, Syracuse Opera, Syracuse Repertory Theatre among others. Directing credits include The Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Champlain Shakespeare Festival, Syracuse Repertory Theatre, Ithaca Opera, Society for New Music, Syracuse University Drama Department, SUNY Oswego, LeMoyne College, Hamilton College, The Redhouse.

The Studio24 Ensemble includes : Robert Brophy, Jim Haenlin, Charles Lupia, Gerard Moses, Susan Palmer Everly, Terry Pease, Kathy Rabuzzi, Eleanor Russell, Nikolai Truskalo,Thea Van der Ven, Susan Wolstenholme These eleven talented actors move effortlessly through their multiple roles as the towns people whose lives are revealed in both dream and waking sequences.

The performance is the latest in the Renate Rewald Literary Arts Series.